The Swiss book voucher

Welcome to the Swiss book voucher - your reliable partner for the perfect gift!

The Swiss Book Voucher

Swiss Book Vouchers are valid for five years and can be purchased and redeemed at nearly any bookshop throughout Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein.

These vouchers work just like cash, which makes them an ideal gift for friends and family, students, avid readers and children of all ages.
Swiss Book Vouchers in the traditional paper format are available in denominations of CHF 10, 15, 20, 30, 50 and 100, while electronic vouchers (gift cards) are available with values of CHF 20, 50 and 100.

Bon-Entwurf-Leopard.jpg

Board of Directors
Bild Anne Dürr
Anne
Dürr
Board member
Bild Ruth Schildknecht
Ruth
Schildknecht
Board member
Bild Prisca Wirz
Prisca
Wirz
Board member
Bild Martina Tonidandel
Martina
Tonidandel
Vice President of the Board
Bild András Neméth
András
Neméth
President of the Board
OFFICE
Bild Loïc von Matt
Loïc
von Matt
Administration

History

1964

The first Swiss Book Vouchers are designed by Celestino Piatti and issued for the Christmas shopping season. They are available in denominations of CHF 5, 10, 20 and 50 and have no expiration date. The Swiss Advertising Agency for the Book (SWB), a division of the Swiss Booksellers’ and Publishers’ Association (SBVV), is in charge.

1965

As an incentive for booksellers to sell the vouchers, bookshops are able to purchase Swiss Book Vouchers at a 15% discount, while the shop where the voucher is redeemed forgoes 15% of the purchase price. This business model remains in place until the end of December 2019.

1969

Sales rise to well over CHF 100,000, proving that the Swiss Book Voucher meets a customer need.

1974

Swiss Book Advertising and Information (formerly SWB) takes over management of the book vouchers on 1 August while delivery and redemption are handled by Addenda.

1976

Sales exceed CHF 1 million for the first time.

1984

Swiss Book Advertising and Information takes over all book voucher management tasks. Launch of the volume discount.

1985

New voucher design; now with EAN code.

1986

Swiss Book Advertising and Information is renamed Pro Libro AG; liquidation in 1989.

1987

The validity of Swiss Book Vouchers is limited to 10 years.

1993

The Swiss Booksellers’ and Publishers’ Association (SBVV) becomes the umbrella organisation of three independent industry associations. Swiss Book Voucher is taken over by the Booksellers’ Association of German-speaking Switzerland (BVDS).

2002

Foundation of the Swiss Book Voucher Cooperative as an independent organisation based in Neuhausen.

2009

Sales exceed CHF 11 million.

2010

Swiss Book Vouchers get a facelift. The Cooperative has 434 members.

2011

The secretariat in Neuhausen is closed. The Swiss Book Voucher Society GSSB GmbH based in Stans (NW) takes over administration of the Book Voucher.

2012

A proposal to reintroduce fixed book prices is rejected in a referendum.

2015

Specially developed software is rolled out to handle nearly all administrative aspects of the Book Vouchers.

2018

Steadily decreasing sales prompt the Board of Directors to hold a two-day closed-door session to discuss strategies for the future. This gives rise to a project aimed at promoting reading by distributing Book Vouchers to school districts; the project is then evaluated within the scope of a study by the University of St. Gallen.

2019

A gift card-style “electronic Book Voucher” enters the launch phase.

2020

An overwhelming majority of the members of the Cooperative vote in favour of a new business model in an extraordinary ballot vote in 2019; this change takes effect on 1 January. In the past, all purchases and redemptions of Book Vouchers had been subject to a deduction of 15%. Under the new model, no more discounts are offered and all book vouchers that are redeemed are reimbursed at 100% of their face value. This ensures that both small and large bookshops are treated fairly.

2020

Electronic Book Vouchers, a gift card in credit-card format, are launched in November. These can be used for both on-site and online purchases. Traditional paper vouchers are still available.

The Federal Council imposes a nationwide lockdown in mid-March due to the raging coronavirus pandemic and all non-essential shops are closed, including bookshops. The Swiss Book Voucher Cooperative immediately launches an emergency aid programme granting a total of CHF 400,000 in financial support that does not have to be repaid as well as interest-free loans in the amounts of CHF 5,000 or CHF 10,000 (up to a total of CHF 300,000) on request. The initiative is extremely successful and well-received by the bookshops.

Vision 2028

The Vision 28 of the Swiss Book Voucher consists of three main objectives

Raising awareness: 
A new image and targeted marketing campaigns are intended to increase awareness of the book voucher among various target groups. Internal and external communication strategies are intended to raise awareness of the brand.

 

Tapping into new target groups: 
The brand endeavours to attract new target groups in the book industry by seeing potential in cooperation with companies, institutions and administrations. Targeted measures are intended to make these target groups aware of the Bücherbon and bind them to the book industry.

 

Expanding support: 
Bücherbon would like to expand its role as a promoter in bookshops, events and reading promotion programmes. Through an increased presence and active support, Bücherbon should be recognised as an important player in the book industry.

We support the following events

The Swiss Book Voucher is actively involved in promoting the book trade and literature. Every year, we support numerous events and projects that celebrate the diversity and importance of reading. Here you will find a selection of our support projects that help to keep the world of books alive and spread the joy of reading.

Hero Image Hero Image

Der Schweizer Bücherbon

Willkommen beim Schweizer Bücherbon – Ihrem verlässlichen Partner für das perfekte Geschenk!

Der Schweizer Bücherbon

Der Schweizer Bücherbon ist fünf Jahre gültig und kann in fast allen Buchhandlungen der Schweiz und des Fürstentums Liechtenstein gekauft bzw. eingelöst werden. 

Er ist ein veritables Wertpapier und somit ein ideales Geschenk mit Langzeitwirkung und Individualität für Freunde und Familie, Studenten, LeserInnen und ABC-Schützen.
Den Schweizer Bücherbon in klassischer Papierform gibt es in den Werten 10.–, 15.–, 20.–, 30.–, 50.– und 100.– Franken. Der elektronische Bücherbon (Geschenkkarte) ist in den Werten 20.–, 50.– und 100.– Franken erhältlich. 

Bon-Entwurf-Leopard.jpg

WER SIND WIR?

Der Schweizer Bücherbon wurde 1970 vom Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband SBVV gegründet. 2001 wurde die Rechtsform in eine Genossenschaft umgewandelt. Seitdem sind auch die Buchhandelsverbände des Tessins und der Romandie Mitglieder.

Die Genossenschaft zählt heute über 300 ordentliche Mitglieder plus deren Filialen, mit ca. 400 Standorten in der ganzen Schweiz, an denen Schweizer Bücherbons gekauft bzw. eingelöst werden können.

Für Fragen und Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an die Geschäftsstelle: schweizer@buchbon.ch / Tel. 052 672 27 24

Verwaltungsrat
Bild Anne Dürr
Anne
Dürr
Verwaltungsrätin
Bild Ruth Schildknecht
Ruth
Schildknecht
Verwaltungsrätin
Bild Prisca Wirz
Prisca
Wirz
Verwaltungsrätin
Bild Martina Tonidandel
Martina
Tonidandel
Vizepräsidentin
Bild András Neméth
András
Neméth
Präsident
GESCHÄFTSSTELLE
Bild Loïc von Matt
Loïc
von Matt
Leiter Geschäftsstelle

Geschichte

1964

Zu Weihnachten werden die ersten Schweizer Bücherbons ausgegeben, von Celestino Piatti gestaltet. Sie sind zu 5, 10, 20 und 50 Franken erhältlich und unbegrenzt gültig. Verantwortlich ist die Schweizerische Werbestelle für das Buch SWB, eine Abteilung des Schweizer Buchhändlerverbands SBV.

1965

Um den Buchhändlern einen Anreiz zum Verkauf zu geben, bezieht die verkaufende Buchhandlung Bücherbons mit 15 % Rabatt, die einlösende Buchhandlung verzichtet auf 15 %. Dieses Geschäftsmodell war bis zum 31.12.2019 in Kraft.

1969

Der Umsatz ist weit über 100’000 Franken gestiegen und beweist damit, dass der Schweizer Bücherbon einem Kundenbedürfnis entspricht.

1974

Per 1. August übernimmt die Schweizer Buchwerbung und Information (vormals SWB) die Administration der Bücherbons, Auslieferung und Einlösung erfolgen durch die Firma Addenda.

1976

Der Umsatz übersteigt erstmals eine Million Franken.

1984

Die Schweizer Buchwerbung und Information übernimmt die gesamte Bücherbon-Administration. Einführung des Mengenrabatts.

1985

Neugestaltung der Bons, erstmals mit EAN-Code.

1986

Aus Schweizer Buchwerbung und Information wird die Pro Libro AG, die 1989 liquidiert wird.

1987

Die Geltungsdauer der Schweizer Bücherbons wird auf 10 Jahre beschränkt.

1993

Der SBVV wird zur Dachorganisation von drei eigenständigen Branchenverbänden. Der Schweizer Bücherbon wird vom Buchhändler-Verband der deutschsprachigen Schweiz BVDS übernommen.

2002

Gründung der Genossenschaft Schweizer Bücherbon als unabhängige Gesellschaft mit Sitz in Neuhausen.

2009

Der Umsatz übersteigt elf Millionen Franken.

2010

Schweizer Bücherbons erscheinen in neuem Look. Die Genossenschaft hat 434 Mitglieder.

2011

Die Geschäftsstelle in Neuhausen wird aufgelöst. Die Gesellschaft Schweizer Bücherbon GSSB GmbH mit Sitz in Stans NW übernimmt neu die Verwaltung.

2012

Die Wiedereinführung der Buchpreisbindung wird per Volksabstimmung abgelehnt.

2015

Eine eigens für den Bücherbon entwickelte Software für nahezu alle administrativen Anforderungen wird in Betrieb genommen.

2018

An einer zweitägigen Klausurtagung erörtert der Verwaltungsrat wegen stetig sinkender Umsätze die Strategien für die Zukunft. Das daraus enstandene Projekt "Leseförderung" mittels Abgabe von Bücherbons durch Schulgemeinden, wird durch eine wissenschaftliche Studie der Hochschule St. Gallen evaluiert.

2019

Der "Elektronische Bücherbon" in Form einer Geschenkkarte geht in die Entwicklungs-Startphase.

2020

In einer Ausserordentlichen Urabstimmung 2019 beschliessen die Genossenschaftsmitglieder mit grosser Mehrheit den Wechsel auf ein neues Geschäftsmodell, das am 1. Januar in Kraft tritt. Bislang wurden bei Kauf und Einlösung der Bücherbons jeweils 15% abgezogen. Neu werden keine Rabatte mehr gewährt und die eingelösten Bücherbons werden zu 100% vergütet. Dies schafft Gleichbehandlung und Fairness zwischen grossen und kleinen Buchhandlungen.

2020

Im November erfolgt die Einführung des "Elektronischen Bücherbons" in Form einer kreditkartengrossen Geschenkkarte, die stationär und online gekauft und eingelöst werden kann. Die bewährten Papierbons werden weiterhin angeboten.

Mitte März verordnet der Bundesrat wegen der grassierenden "Corona-Pandemie" die schweizweite Schliessung der Geschäfte, die nicht zur lebenswichtigen Versorgung gehören, was auch die Buchhandlungen betrifft. Die Genossenschaft Schweizer Bücherbon startet unverzüglich ein Soforthilfeprogramm, das eine finanzielle Unterstützung à fond perdu in Höhe von insgesamt 400'000 Franken sowie zinslose Kredite von 5'000 oder 10'000 Franken (max. 300'000 Fr.) auf Gesuch gewährt. Die Aktion ist sehr erfolgreich und wird von den betroffenen Buchhandlungen dankend in Anspruch genommen.

Vision 2028

Die Vision 28 des Schweizer Bücherbons umfasst drei Hauptziele

Bekanntheit steigern
Durch ein neues Erscheinungsbild und gezielte Marketingaktionen soll die Bekanntheit des Bücherbons bei verschiedenen Zielgruppen gesteigert werden. Interne und externe Kommunikationsstrategien sollen das Bewusstsein für die Marke erhöhen.

 

Neue Zielgruppen erschliessen
Die Marke strebt danach, neue Zielgruppen in der Buchbranche zu gewinnen, indem sie Potenziale in der Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen, Institutionen und Verwaltungen sieht. Durch gezielte Massnahmen sollen diese Zielgruppen auf den Bücherbon aufmerksam gemacht und an die Buchbranche gebunden werden.

 

Unterstützung ausbauen
Der Bücherbon möchte seine Rolle als Förderer in Buchhandlungen, Events, Veranstaltungen und Leseförderungsprogrammen ausbauen. Durch eine gesteigerte Präsenz und aktive Unterstützung soll der Bücherbon als wichtiger Akteur in der Buchbranche wahrgenommen werden.

Wir setzen uns für Kultur und Leseförderung ein

Der Schweizer Bücherbon engagiert sich aktiv in der Förderung des Buchhandels und der Literatur. Jedes Jahr unterstützen wir zahlreiche Veranstaltungen und Projekte, die die Vielfalt und Bedeutung des Lesens feiern. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl unserer Unterstützungsprojekte, die dazu beitragen, die Welt des Buches lebendig zu halten und Lesefreude zu verbreiten.